2011 North Dakota National Archery In Schools State Tournament

The number of students participating in North Dakota’s National Archery in the Schools Program has more than doubled in one year, based on the number of student archers who competed in this year’s state tournament.

Jeff Long, NASP coordinator for the State Game and Fish Department, said 295 student archers participated in the 2011 state tournament, compared to 143 in 2010. North Dakota’s first NASP state tournament was held in 2009, when 71 student archers participated.

“All total, 11,800 arrows were released during this year’s state tournament,” Long said. “I couldn’t be happier with how this program has taken off in only a few short years.”

NASP is a national program that helps schools incorporate archery target shooting into physical education curriculums. The Game and Fish Department provides grants to help schools purchase equipment.

The 2011 state tournament was held March 26 at the VFW All Seasons Arena in Bismarck.

The first-place team and top five boys and girls in each division qualify for the national tournament in Louisville, Kentucky. Additionally, teams that achieve minimum scores set by NASP also qualify for the national tournament.

Griggs County Central and Medina claimed top honors in the team competitions. Middle (grades 7-8) and high school (grades 9-12) students from Griggs County Central won their respective divisions, while Medina students finished first in the elementary school (grades 4-6) competition. These teams received a trophy and five dozen arrows, and will receive $2,500 in travel assistance if the school decides to send the team to nationals. In addition, Long will be travelling to Griggs County Central and Medina later this month for a formal awards presentation.

Overall male and female winners Nathan Hazard and Shaylee Andel of Griggs County Central received a plaque and a special edition bow. In addition, each will receive $750 in travel assistance if they choose to attend the national tournament.

Top individual honors in the high school male and female divisions went to Hazard, and Amanda Young, Dunseith. Middle school honors went to Andel and fellow Griggs County Central student Ben Halverson. The elementary student winner in the boys division was Cole Nelson, Burke Central, and taking top honors in the elementary girls division was Kayce Saxberg, Griggs County Central.

Also qualifying for the national tournament were:

High school boys – Lucas Nadeau and Mason Blacksmith of Dunseith, and Jacob Langlie and Kody Grandalen of Mayville-Portland-Clifford-Galesburg.

High school girls – Shayla Zaun, Tristin Johnson and Kayla Feiring of Griggs County Central, and Laura Wanzek of Barnes County North.

Middle school boys – Kevin Heine and Jesse Iverson of Griggs County Central, Kesad Schmidt of Devils Lake Central and Chase Conway of Westhope.

Middle school girls – Deena Monson and Holly Salverson of Griggs County Central, Amy Landsiedel of Wing and Lisa Buckhaus of Hankinson.

Elementary boys – Evan Trolstad and Eric Salverson of Griggs County Central, Seth Bentz of Wing and Michael McKenna of North Sargent.

Elementary girls – Ashley Wolf and Samantha Staloch of Medina, Mya Steinwehr of Hankinson and Morgan Ehnert of Devils Lake Central.