Results From Racin’ On The Red

Annual Race the Red Canoe and Kayak Races Official Results
Thirty canoe and kayak teams participated in River Keepers’ Annual Race the Red on Monday, June 14. Participants included people from Phoenix, Arizona; Houston, Texas, and Aberdeen, South Dakota. The top three finishers in the 10-mile competitive and the 2-mile fun races were:

10-mile Competitive Race:
Canoe Male Team
1st John Kjersten & Jim Kersten, both Aberdeen, SD, 1:39:22
2nd Jeff Haberman, Pelican Rapids & Steve Ishaug, Moorhead, 1:58
3rd Jamie Steidl & Marty Steidl, both Fargo, 1:58:35

Canoe Co-Ed Team
1st Eric Palmquist & Hannah Stoltkinburg, both Fargo, 2:12:04

Canoe Female Team
1st Jenny Aune & Marilyn Laliberte, both Fargo, 2:04:40
2nd Kelly Steidl & Ann Marie Stewart, both Fargo, 3:09:54
3rd Kelly Bruhn, West Fargo & Mandy Elseth

Kayak Solo
1st Nathan Edwards, Moorhead, 1:39:48
2nd Lance Thorson, Fargo, 2:08:39
3rd, Lori Clark, Horace, 2:11:52

2-Mile Fun Race:
Canoe Team
1st Wade Baird & Rebecca Baird, both West Fargo, 20:19
2nd Jim Krogh, West Fargo & Karen Prestegord, Ada, MN, 21:06
3rd Cliff Cornelius, Fargo & Chris Gourde, Harwood, 21:15

Kayak, 16 & over
1st Kevin Sandness, West Fargo, 18:18
2nd Jason Weimer, West Fargo, 19:11
3rd Brian Davidson, Fargo, 20:44

Kayak, 15 & under
1st Maria Stutzman, Fargo, 22:54

Tandem Kayak
1st Drue Haarsager & Andrew Haarsager, both Fargo, 22:31

Non Traditional, 16 & over
1st Wayne Goeken, Erskine, MN, 17:15
2nd Terry Peoples, Fargo, 19:56