Archery In Schools A Hit In North Dakota

North Dakota’s National Archery in the Schools Program is growing fast, if this year’s state tournament is any indication.
“It was a great turnout,” according to Jeff Long, NASP coordinator for the State Game and Fish Department. “We had 160 student archers, more than twice as many as last year. Our goal is to have 50 percent of the schools participating in NASP within the next five years.”
NASP is a national program that helps schools incorporate archery target shooting into physical education curriculums. The Game and Fish Department provides grants to help schools purchase equipment, and also has equipment that schools can share.
The 2010 state tournament was the first held on-site at a central location, at the NISHU Bowmen’s indoor archery range in Bismarck on March 6. Last year, students completed their tournament rounds at local sites and scores were compared statewide.
Griggs County Central and Medina claimed top honors in the team competitions. Middle (grades 7-8) and high school (grades 9-12) students from Griggs County Central won their respective divisions, while Medina students finished first in the elementary school (grades 4-6) competition.
The first-place team and top five boys and girls in each division qualify for the national tournament in Louisville, Kentucky. Additionally, teams that achieve minimum scores set by NASP also qualify for the national tournament.
Top individual honors in the high school male and female divisions went to Jordan Bruce, Dunseith, and Ashley Landsiedel, Wing. Middle school honors went to Griggs County Central students Kevin Heinz and Tristin Johnson. Elementary student winners were Tyler Gravseth and Deena Monson, also from Griggs County Central.
Also qualifying for the national tournament in the high school boys division were Griggs County Central students Adam Larson and Josh Johnson, Dunseith student Zach LaFloe and Mandaree student Dylan Costello; high school girls Amanda Young and Jaci Fayant of Dunseith, Beth Jochim of Griggs County Central and Abby Dalin of Burke Central; middle school boys Ben Halvorson, Justin Hanson, Gavin LaPlant and Rusty Stokkeland, all of Griggs County Central; middle school girls Shayla Zaun of Griggs County Central, Amy Landsiedel of Wing, Katie Pfleger of Bismarck St. Mary’s, and Keirra Hawkins of Burke Central; elementary boys Ashton Synnes of Killdeer, and Nick Muncy, Jesse Iverson and Jacob Heinz of Griggs County Central; and elementary girls Maddy Vincent and Alison Goplen of Griggs County Central, Micayla Brown of Hope-Page and Aidan Bird of Killdeer.